2017: Sir Chris Hoy MBE

Six-Time Gold Medal-winning Track Cyclist, one of the most successful British Olympians of all time

Best known for his accolade of gold medals throughout his incredible cycling career. Following his retirement has successfully made the transition into the business world following the launch of his bike range HOY Bikes.

2016: Professor Brian Cox OBE

British physicist and Advanced Fellow of particle physics in the School of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Manchester

Best known for presenting science programmes and for popular science books, such as Why Does E=mc²? and The Quantum Universe.

2015: Dame Ann Dowling

British mechanical engineer serving as the President of the Royal Academy of Engineering

Best known for her work on combustion, acoustics and vibration and being the first female professor in the Department of Engineering at the University of Cambridge.

2014: Jim Al-Khalili OBE

Professor of Theoretical Physics and Chair in the Public Engagement in Science at the University of Surrey

Best known for presenting a number of science programmes on BBC television and advocating science in other British media.

2013: Dr Hermann Hauser

Austrian entrepreneur and University of Cambridge PhD Physics graduate

Best known for his business and intellectual contributions to Silicon Fen, home to a large cluster of high-tech businesses focusing on software, electronics and biotechnology in Cambridge.

2012: Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson

Former British wheelchair racer, a parliamentarian and a television presenter

Best known for being one of the most successful disabled athletes in the UK with a total of 16 Paralympic medals.

2011: Sir John Armitt CBE

British civil engineer and former Chairman of the Olympic Delivery Authority

Best known for his contribution to the structural build of venues, facilities and infrastructure for the 2012 Olympic games and being the former President of the Institution of Civil Engineers.

2010: John Humphrys

Award-winning British television, radio presenter and journalist

Best known for presenting BBC’s Mastermind, his award-winning BBC Radio 4 programme, Today and his tenacious and forthright interview style.

2009: Andrew Neil

British journalist, broadcaster and former editor of The Sunday Times

Best known for presenting BBC’s live political programmes, Sunday Politics, This Week and Daily Politics and being the chairman of the Press Holdings group, which owns The Spectator.

2008: Ed Gibson

Former American astronaut for NASA as well as a trained pilot, engineer and qualified physicist

Best known for holding the American record for time in space for 21 years and being one of six to be selected by NASA to take part in Astronaut Group 4, the first group of scientist-astronauts.

2007: Wing Commander Andy Green

British Royal Air Force fighter pilot and World Land Speed Record holder

Best known being the current holder of the World Land speed record, and the first person to break the sound barrier on land at an astonishing 763 mph.

2006: Adrian Chiles

British television and radio journalist specialising in sport communications

Best known for his football coverage at ITV Sport and formerly presenting BBC’s The One Show with co-host Christine Bleakley.



Contact us



General enquiries
Jasmine Hodges
Senior Event Logistics Manager
Tel: +44 (0)1438 765 656
Email: annualdinner@theiet.org
Event Customer Services
Tel: +44 (0)1438 765 650
Tel: +44 (0)1438 765 657
Email: events@theiet.org
Sponsorship opportunities
Darren Kaye
Delegate Telesales Executive
Tel: +44 (0)1438 767 265
Email: dkaye@theiet.org
Marketing enquiries
Sarah Sennett
Marketing Campaign Manager
Tel: +44 (0)1438 767 277
Email: nboon@theiet.org

The IET | Help | Cookies | Privacy Statement | Accessibility | Modern Slavery Act Statement | Legal notices

2018 The Institution of Engineering and Technology. The Institution of Engineering and Technology is registered as a Charity in England & Wales (no 211014) and Scotland (no SC038698)